News Release


Mount Marty Honors Athletic Award Winners and Hall of Fame Inductees

Published Date5\7\2012
The annual Lancer Athletic Ceremony and Hall of Fame Induction ceremonies were held May 6th, 2012 on the campus of Mount Marty College in Yankton, SD.

Inductees in to the Hall of Fame included: Teresa Ellis Jensen, a volleyball and basketball athlete from 1992 to 1994, Aaron Kranz, a men's basketball athlete from 1995 to 1999, Jason Selchert, a baseball and basketball athlete from 1992 to 1996, and Dr. Rich Lofthus, the Faculty Athletic Representative from 1991 to 2012.

Lancer Club Award Winners are awarded to the student-athlete who best exemplifies scholarship, citizenship, and leadership in their respective sport. A $1000 contribution to the respective sport's scholarship fund is given on behalf of the student-athlete.

The 2011-2012 Lancer Club Award winners are: Baseball - Justin Kemp (Spearfish, SD), Men's Basketball - Spencer Yackley (Onida, SD), Women's Basketball - Kylie Gross (Yankton, SD), Golf - Weston Swanson (Sergeant Bluff, IA), Men's Soccer - Carlos Saenz (Scottsbluff, NE), Women's Soccer - Hayley Rutledge (Yorba Linda, CA), Softball - Paige Rechtenbaugh (Hartford, SD), Women's Track - Katie Breuer (Madison, SD), Men's Track - Dane Hansen (Fremont, NE), Volleyball - Carlie Lambert (Madison, SD).

The Lancer Champions of Character Award winner for 2011-2012 is awarded annually to the one student athlete that best portrays the values of the NAIA core character values - responsibility, respect, servant leadership, integrity, and sportsmanship. This year's winner was women's basketball player, Kylie Gross.

The Yankton Quarterback Club Female Athlete of the Year was women's basketball player Kylie Gross. She was named NAIA Honorable Mention All-American and 1st Team All-GPAC, was the conference rebounding leader, had 16 double-doubles in this past season, and is among the leaders in all-time Lancer history in several career stats.

The Yankton Quarterback Club Male Athlete of the Year was baseball player Jason Schmidt. Last year Schmidt was named the GPAC Baseball Player of the Year and was named to the NAIA All-American squad. He holds at least twelve school records and is among the career and season leaders in many other categories.

For more information on Mount Marty College athletic program please visit www.mmclancers.com or contact athletic director Charles Iverson at civerson@mtmc.edu.