The 2015 William Kloefkorn Award for Excellence in Poetry
One winner receives $500 and publication in PADDLEFISH. Submission fee $14 (for two poems). All poets submitting to the contest receive a copy of the forthcoming journal. All submissions will also be considered for the forthcoming issue of PADDLEFISH. The contest is judged by PADDLEFISH editor-in-chief Jim Reese and associate editor Dana DeWitt. All contest entrants can submit up to two poems for consideration each year. Each poem should not exceed two pages single-spaced. NO previously published work. NO simultaneous submissions.

Send a $14 check payable to Mount Marty College. In the subject line write Kloefkorn Award. On the submission envelope please write Kloefkorn Award. Please include SASE for the winning announcement. Submission period Nov. 1, 2014 - Feb. 28, 2015. The winner will be announced no later than April 30, 2015.

*Don't forget to include your email, phone number and mailing address on the REVERSE side of each poetry submission.

William KloefkornThe William Kloefkorn Award for Excellence in Poetry was established in memory of the late Nebraska State Poet William Kloefkorn. Bill was named the Nebraska State Poet by proclamation of the Unicameral in 1982. In addition to his many publications and honors, he also won first-place in the 1978 Nebraska Hog-Calling Championship. A retired professor of English at Nebraska Wesleyan University in Lincoln, he was the author of thirty-two books, including Alvin Turner as Farmer (Logan House, 2004), Sunrise, Dayglow, Sunset, Moon (Talking River Publications, 2004), and Walking the Campus (Lone Willow Press, 2004). He also published four memoirs, This Death by Drowning, Restoring the Burnt Child, At Home on This Moveable Earth and Breathing in the Fullness of Time (U. of Nebraska Press). He was the author of two collections of short fiction, A Time to Sink Her Pretty Little Ship and Shadow Boxer (Logan House Press). Most recently he had co-authored In a House Made of Time (Logan House Press) and Moments of Delicate Balance (Wings Press)with David Lee. His poems have appeared in Prairie Schooner, Georgia Review, Poet & Critic, and elsewhere. Bill mentored innumerable students and folks interested in the written word. Bill was a great friend and inimitable teacher.