News Release


Mount Marty Nursing Students are Recognized at State Student Nursing Convention

Published Date3\1\2011
Mount Marty College nursing students attended the 2011 annual convention of Nursing Students Association of South Dakota (NSASD) the weekend of February 17-19 at the University of South Dakota in Vermillion. The association empowers nursing students throughout the state with the information they need to become leaders in the nursing field.

Mount Marty nursing student, Joshua Wenande, Mitchell, S.D. was named Outstanding Nursing Student of South Dakota. He shared the award with Dakota Wesleyan University student, Pauna Mirkovic. They were selected among students from SDSU (east and west river), USD (east and west river), Presentation College, Dakota Wesleyan University Huron and Mitchell. Each school nominates one of their students based on academics, abilities, personal qualities and campus involvement.

In addition, Jennifer Duff, Clearwater, NE, of Mount Marty was awarded the Naomi Jackson Leadership Award. The award-winner must demonstrate strong leadership, dedication, and be an active participant in the association.

According to Assistant Professor of Nursing and faculty advisor, Kathryn Burt, OSB, NSASD provides students with multiple leadership opportunities. quot;It is exciting to observe the students from the various nursing programs come together in collaboration. The students who participated in this organization are leaders in their schools and potentially future leaders in nursing. I am very proud of the accomplishments and the continued participation of our nursing students here at Mount Marty.quot;

Student nursing board leadership at this years convention included five Mount Marty students: President, Tana Bonnet, Newell, S.D.; Vice President, Jodi Vellek, Creighton, N.E.; Recording Secretary, Josh Wenande, Mitchell, S.D.; Corresponding Secretary, Jennifer Duff, Clearwater, N.E.; and Community Health Chair, Therese Assman, Mission, S.D.

At the conclusion of the NSASD convention, four Mount Marty students were elected to the state board: Treasurer, Scott Bormann, Mission Hill, S.D.; Web Administrator, Alicia Pick, Sioux City, Iowa; Corresponding Secretary, Jamie VanDer Broek, Yankton, S.D.; and Nominations Chair, Rachel Frickel, Atkinson, N.E..

Later this spring, Jennifer Duff will be running for national office at the National Student Nurses Association Convention in Salt Lake City, Utah and Joan Clement, Yankton, S.D., will be submitting a resolution at the event.