News Release


Mount Marty to Hold Nurse Pinning Ceremony

Published Date5\4\2011
Mount Marty College will hold a Pinning Ceremony for May and December graduating nursing students on Friday, May 13, 2011 at 4:30 p.m. in Marian Auditorium prior to the Mount Marty College Baccalaureate ceremony.

Established in 1986, Mount Martys Pinning Ceremony acknowledges the achievement of graduating seniors and their transition from a student role to a professional role. The nurses pin represents the philosophy of the school and of the nursing program, and its presentation signifies a sending forth or commissioning of the students to begin their nursing careers as graduates of the school.

The nursing pin is unique to the nursing program from which the student graduates. In years past, a nurses cap and pin represented the school from which he or she attended. Today, Mount Martys pin remains as the lone symbol. Typically, each element of the nursing pin represented an aspect of the nurses dedication.

Mount Martys pin is a black shield on gold with a white cross embedded on the shield. The modified Benedictine cross represents a crossroads of ideas. The cross also depicts the ultimate aim of the college: to form persons in the Spirit of Christ with apostolic zeal for the world-wide work of restoring all things for Christ.

Mount Marty College Nursing Program is proud to acknowledge this years nursing graduates: Therese Assman, Mission, S.D.; Tana Bonnet, Newell, S.D.; Kari Caruthers, Beresford, S.D.; Jessica Christensen, Mitchell, S.D.; Krystal Cihak, Wagner, S.D.; Joan Clement, St. Lawrence, S.D.; Darlene Fickbohm, Vermillion, S.D.; Brittany Fischer, Sioux Falls, S.D.; Meagan Friend, Crofton, N.E.; Kathleen Gubbels, Randolph, Neb.; Elizabeth Hoffman, Yankton, S.D.; Ashley Merkel, Bloomfield, Neb.; Meghan Nelson, Sioux Falls, S.D.; Mindy Newborg, Alton, Iowa; Brandon Phizacklea, Colorado Springs, Colo.; Kayla Ranek, Tyndall, S.D.; Holly Rothschadl, Yankton, S.D.; Michael Slowey, Yankton, S.D.; Rachael Smith, Yankton, S.D.; Amanda Soehl, Sioux Falls, S.D.; Jodi Vellek, Creighton, Neb.; Joshua Wenande, Mitchell, S.D. December Graduates: Chelsea Bosn, Oneill, Neb.; Sara Claussen, Butte, Neb.; Cody Gramkow, Olivet, S.D.; Marcus Langan, Worthing, S.D.