News Release


Area High School Oral Interp Students Competed in Mount Marty Contest

Published Date12\5\2013
Sixteen area high schools totaling 150 students converged on Yankton's Mount Marty College campus to compete in the annual MMC 2nd Place Contest on Tuesday, December 3rd. The annual contest which began over forty years ago by Professor Emeritus Virgil Petrik is run by MMC's Department of Speech and Theatre. Participating schools included Beresford, Bon Homme, Canton, Centerville, Ethan, Gayville-Volin, Hanson, Irene-Wakonda, Lennox, Menno, Parker, Scotland, Sioux Falls Washington, Vermillion, Wagner and Yankton.

MMC Professor Andrew Henrickson, Contest Chair, is thankful for the Mount Marty students who assist in the preparations as well as serving as judges for the event. "It takes a lot of planning and coordination to put on the contest. I also appreciate the coaches and administrators for their dedication to giving students an opportunity to use their creativity to develop communication skills. The skills being honed now will make a positive difference in their future endeavors."

The following students received 1st and 2nd Place trophies and 3rd Place medals in their respective categories during an awards ceremony held late Tuesday afternoon in Marian Auditorium:

ORATORY Class A 1st - Alexi Malatare (BH), 2nd - Morgan Fuller (VER), 3rd - Tosha Keith (BER); Class B 1st - Meghan Harold (PAR), 2nd - Seth Friesen (MEN), 3rd - Ally Feiner (ETH). DUET INTERP Class AA 1st - Lesha/Magnuson (Y), 2nd - Kandic Wagner (SFW), 3rd - VandeBraak/Hixon (SFW); Class A 1st - Marquardt/Klinkhammer (LEN), 2nd - Ahrens/Carda (BH), 3rd - Hanks/Meyer (CAN); Class B 1st - Hanson/Hanson (HAN), 2nd - Harold/Rang (PAR), 3rd - Kirschenman/Hare (I-W). HUMOROUS Class AA 1st - Maddie Henrickson (Y); Class A 1st - Austin Olson (VER), 2nd - Madison Marquardt (LEN), 3rd - Morgan Smith (CAN); Class B 1st - Ashley Oien (I-W), 2nd - Callie Hohn (ETH), 3rd - Brittany Flanagan (ETH). SERIOUS DRAMA Class AA 1st - Gabrielle Swenson (Y); Class A 1st - Jacob Ford (VER), 2nd - Hailey Hilzendeger (WAG), 3rd - Jennifer Huber (CAN); Class B 1st - Lilly Trawick (I-W), 2nd - Hannah Rolfs (G-V), 3rd - Brittany Flanagan (ETH). SERIOUS PROSE Class AA 1st - Brea Wagner (SFW), 2nd - Ariana Ellis (SFW), 3rd - Talitha Greaver (Y); Class A 1st - Morgan Fuller (VER), 2nd - Carly Sternhagen (BH), 3rd - Paige McManigal (VER); Class B 1st - Brenna Roth (ETH), 2nd - Lindsey Meiers (PAR), 3rd - Lexie Ellison (G-V). POETRY Class AA 1st - Lydia Simmons (SFW), 2nd - Rebecca VandeBraak (SFW), 3rd - Annie Banks (SFW); Class A 1st - Jacob Ford (VER), 2nd - Michael Kolvek (CAN), 3rd - Brenda Walloch (BH); Class B 1st - Calla Harper (I-W), 2nd - Miranda Henglefelt (HAN), 3rd - Rylee Black (MEN). READERS THEATRE Class A 1st - CAN 1, 2nd - BH 1, 3rd - BER 1; Class B 1st - MEN 2, 2nd - PAR 1, 3rd - HAN 1.

For more information on the event, please contact Contest Chair, Andrew Henrickson, at ahenrickson@mtmc.edu.